Excellent speech on behalf of Amrutha Pranay

bhaigan

46 minutes ago, MiryalgudaMaruthiRao said:

One boiled egg and chaddiannam 

I am an IIT/IIM graduate. I spent 11 days in police custody, thanks to a fake IPC 498A case filed by my newly wed Dentist + MBA wife. My brother joined me after 8 days and gave me company for the last 3 days. My mother had already been in custody earlier.

The case was filed in 2013 and is still in progress. Staying in custody was one of the best experiences that ever happened to me. I am still best friends with most of the Mahila Police Station and Jail policemen/women.

I was in custody in one of the coastal districts of Andhra Pradesh, India.

Coming to the question in hand - the menu from Monday to Saturday is:

1. Breakfast - Pulihora / Tamarind Rice, everyday, served at around 6:30 am
  2. Lunch - Rice, Watery Sambar with no vegetables in it. A different type of curry everyday. Served at around 11:30 am.
  3. Dinner - Freshly cooked rice with rasam. Leftover sambar from lunch. One egg for long timers. Served at around 5:00 pm.

On Sunday:

1. 200 gm of mutton (goat) or chicken curry. Very very well made. The curry is weighed so that everyone gets a fair and equal amount and no fights breakout. The curry is so good that the policemen would dine with us.
  2. The vegetarians would get a special curry on Sunday. They would be served first. Veg and Non Veg people would be served at different times to ensure that no one ate both the veg and non-veg curry.

Other than the chicken/mutton curry and the eggs, there were unlimited servings of everything.

The food is fairly if not completely monotonous. There were a number of people who kindly shared their pickles with me. I was not an exception, almost everyone shared what they got from their visitors - pickles, biscuits, fruits etc. Fruits would got stolen, though most thieves were kind enough to leave at-least one fruit behind.