vatsal nahata -- Disrupt Yourself

sreeeeeeee

The story of how I got my World Bank job:

[I shudder everytime I recall this]

It was March of 2020 and I was about to graduate from Yale in 2 months.

COVID-19 had just been declared a pandemic and companies were on a spree to fire employees. Every company was preparing for the worst, and it made no sense to hire. A historic recession seemed looming.

Also, Donald Trump was President. I would reach the final rounds of several companies only to be told that they could not sponsor my visa. Trump's stance on immigration made it very uncertain for companies to navigate and predict US immigration policy. Everybody wanted to play it safe and hire US citizens.

I did not have a job at hand and I was going to graduate in 2 months. And I was a student at "Yale".

I thought to myself: what was the point of coming to Yale when I can't even secure a job here. It became harder to sound strong to my parents when they called and asked me how I was doing.

But I was determined that returning to India was not an option, and that my first paycheck would only be in Dollars.

I went all out on networking, and took the risk of completely avoiding job application forms or job portals:

In those 2 months, I sent over 1500 connection requests, wrote 600 cold-emails, got on 80 odd cold-calls with all types of people (I was clocking close to 2 cold-calls per day) and faced the highest number of rejections I've ever gone through. I developed thick-skin by necessity. And I was getting nowhere.

You could wake me up at 4 am in the morning and I could smoothly network and sell my skills to the most seasoned American executive, all while knowing that this call is probably going nowhere. Things became so desperate that I would often cold-call people in my dreams.

The Gentle Hum of Anxiety became my most played song on YouTube.